The Art of being Uncommon + Link up

July 19, 2016

art-uncommon-jewelry-review

 

It was only recently that I began to open up to people about how antisocial I was in middle and high school. My introverted, shy self preferred eating lunch alone away in a school art room creating work of my own (mostly acrylic paintings) or curled up with my school literature book. Yes you read that right, the school literature book reading poetry and short stories along with the creators of stories and illustrators of artwork. I didn’t read ahead or from cover to back to do better in school or for the purpose of getting ahead, I just really enjoyed the art in words as well as learning about authors and the people contained with in. I was an uncommon girl with a love for an uncommon pass time.

uncommon-lace-dipped-in-gold-earrings-necklace

Several months ago I heard about a marketplace called UnCommonGoods that celebrates and supports artisans from low income countries, the young designer to the seasoned one. This business shares anything from handmade jewelry (see more information on here), furniture, toys, clothing and more from different designers and artisans, and the best part…each work contains a history of the maker and how they created their piece(s). Hello, new literature book!!!

uncommongoods-lace-gold-dipped-necklace-earrings

When UnCommonGoods reached out to me for a collaboration I must have spent hours browsing the jewelry in particularly (you can see some jewelry selections by clicking here) and had a hard time narrowing down my choices as each artist of jewelry had such a unique craft or story to tell.  A few of my favorites are worn in todays post (from bracelets, necklaces and a nice selection of earrings that you will love). I hope you will enjoy the pieces that I picked out and tell you a bit more about below.

uncommongoods-lace-dipped-24k-gold-earrings

uncommongoods-jewelry-lace-dipped-gold-set

This particular set (sold separately) is made from sewn lace dipped in 24k gold.  You can read about this earring and necklace pair here and here to find out more about them. Both pieces are from the same mother-daughter duo that now reside in Vermont but that attribute their work to this art form of jewelry making to their home country of Colombia. I appreciate this form of jewelry making and think it is so unique that I just had get my hands on this pair of earrings and necklace. I do like them, however the hook on the earrings is pretty thick and the earrings are heavy at first and take a few wearings before getting use to them. The necklace is easy to put on and would go well with or without the complimentary earrings and makes for a beautiful statement necklace with a beautiful, uncommon story behind it.

 

uncommongoods-resin-necklace-gold-leaf-flakes-barI had been wanting a gold bar necklace or some form of one and fell for this one. This particular piece is made up of a resin that contains 24k gold leaf flakes in it, but you can read more about the process of making it here. It’s exclusively made for UnCommonGoods from the same mother-daughter duo of the lace gold dipped set above. I love how dainty this necklace is and can’t wait to layer it with other necklaces.

uncommongoods-gold-bar-necklace-gold-earrings

uncommongoods-jewelry-gold-earrings-resin-bar-necklaceIt is hard to tell about the earrings I am styling in the above photo but you can see an actual photo of them here as these are just beautiful. They are lightweight and go well worn casually and dressed up. To read more about this set and the maker from Oregon go here.

uncommongoods-kentha-colorful-textile-wood-beands-bracelet

Finally, throughout these photos you may or may not have noticed the beaded bracelet I am wearing. To be honest I didn’t know how often I would wear this particular bracelet because of all the color throughout, but truthfully I have been wearing it everyday since I got it, because it actually does go with everything and I love the ethnic look to it. This particular bracelet is unique and there is not another like it as each one is made unique from recycled textiles and wood beads from artisans in India (see for yourself here).

As you read throughout I appreciate the works of the artisans as well as the history and unique craft behind each piece and challenge you to find a piece or artist that you may like to know more about by clicking here. Report in the comments below what you found out or would like to try.

*UnCommonGoods provided handmade jewelry that I picked in exchange for a review. Thank for you for supporting the brands and businesses that support this blog.

 

Now for “Bloggers Who Have Inspired Me” link up

Rachel of Garay Treasures blog:

rachmakeover1

 

Rachel is a former full time preschool special education teacher turned full time stay-at- home mom of four children with a passion for substitute teaching and blogging at Garay Treasures on the side. Garay Treasures is a fashion and lifestyle blog with some added posts on faith and everyday treasures. Rachel loves drinking several cups of coffee a day (hot or iced), blogging, and reading and playing with her children. You can follow Rachel by bloglovin, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook or Pinterest.

Meet your Co-Host Lydia of Chic and Modish:

untitled

Lydia is the face behind Chic + Modish blog.  She is a teacher by day and a fashion blogger and mama by night. Fashion has always been her passion and even majored in fashion merchandising and marketing in college. She loves keeping up with the latest trends, but most importantly she loves incorporating them into her own style. Her goal is to share great looks that have inpired her and will hopefully inspire you, to be you!

You can follow Lydia along at: Instagram, Facebook & Twitter

Now on to the Featured 5 from last week: ***Since I was sick the beginning of last week for several days and had a lot of church functions going on last week I am featuring the 5 most clicked on from last weeks link up. I don’t do this often, but I thank you for your understanding******

img_3986

 

This tee on Jaymie is too cute. I know how tee problems can be.

TDLSheinStripedRoseSkirt-3360-683x1024

Irene had a problem with figuring out how to style this skirt. I think she nailed it though and so beautifully too.

untitled

I totally agree with this tee and how lovely Amanda looks in it. Like her I love how blogging has become a day dream that should never stop. See post here.

untitled

In love with Debonita’s woolover style, see what I mean here.

untitled

Perfect casual summer wear and styling a graphic tee? no? See post here.

Now it is your turn, please follow the rules below and enjoy!

1). Please link up recent posts and include the link up button or post this URL link back on your blog. The posts can be about fashion, DIY projects, recipes, inspiration, tips, etc. *If you link up other link ups or giveaways please be sure you share this link up on your link up post to share the blog love and I will be sure to link up to yours. Also please follow me in the below social medias and let me know how you are following and I will follow back. Thank you!

2). Please follow your host: Rachel of Garay Treasures either by Bloglovin, Instagram, Facebook or Twitter or all. Comment below and let me know how you are following so I can follow back.

3). Stop by and check out the other bloggers who have linked up and be inspired.

4). Have fun! Comment below if you have any questions! Thanks for linking


To link up it would be great if you linked my button to your post that you link up. Get button code below:

Garay Treasures

 

 

You Might Also Like

  • Amanda Goodhue July 19, 2016 at 12:06 am

    Love the print on that top and the jewelry! Thank you SO much for featuring me, I’m flattered 🙂

    xo- Amanda

  • Sheree July 19, 2016 at 12:18 am

    I loved the dainty gold bar necklace on you, it is subtle yet meaningful. The earrings are gorgeous too bad they were heavy.

    xo Sheree
    http://poshclassymom.com
    IG: @poshclassymom

  • Happiness at Mid Life July 19, 2016 at 1:01 am

    You have some pretty pieces of jewelry from this site.

    Thank you for hosting and hope you are having a fab week!

    Alice
    http://www.happinessatmidlife.com

    Hope to see you Thursday for TBT Fashion link up.

  • irene July 19, 2016 at 3:05 am

    I am so happy! thank you so much Rachel for the feature…
    love these accessories! perfect for summer
    thank you for hosting the link up
    Irene
    http://www.thedailylace.com

  • Pam at Grey is the New Black July 19, 2016 at 6:18 am

    I was the same way in school! I love Uncommon Goods!

  • Jill July 19, 2016 at 6:46 am

    Love Uncommon Goods jewelry! You got some amazing pieces! The gold necklace and earrings are so pretty!

    Jill
    Doused In Pink

  • Shelbee on the Edge July 19, 2016 at 7:13 am

    Rachel, I am very much into these artisan pieces because of how purchasing these pieces gives back. Plus you get so many unique things as well. I love the lace dipped in gold set. And the beaded bracelet is so interesting and fun, for sure!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

  • Kathrine Eldridge July 19, 2016 at 7:19 am

    Love all your jewels from Uncommon Goods! I am a big fan of them. I also adore the gorgeous blue printed top. Thanks for the link up!

    http://www.kathrineeldridge.com

  • Trina July 19, 2016 at 7:32 am

    Beautiful earring and necklace set 🙂
    http://www.tipsyheelz.com

  • Laura July 19, 2016 at 7:45 am

    Such cute pieces and I LOVE the story behind them!! Fabulous!!!

    Laura
    http://www.blackcoffeebeautiful.com

  • Red Tag Chic Los Angeles July 19, 2016 at 8:18 am

    Love their delicate pieces!

    The 2nd installment of my festival style collaboration with UK brand BOOHOO is now live at the blog – come check it out and let me know what you think!

    Happy Tuesday!

    Rebecca
    http://www.redtagchiclosangeles.com

  • Amy Arnold July 19, 2016 at 8:41 am

    So many pretty pieces! I have a collaboration with them coming up, and I am excited. I’ve heard great things.

    Amy Ann
    Straight A Style

  • jodie filogomo July 19, 2016 at 9:01 am

    First I have to say I love that catalog—I’m not sure I’ve ever ordered from them, but the have such interesting things!!
    And the title of this blog—it’s perfect. Because I think as we get older, it’s more fun to be uncommon and not dress the same as everyone and like all the same things—-
    jodie
    http://www.jtouchofstyle.com

  • Jaymie Ashcraft July 19, 2016 at 9:11 am

    Love your top! It’s beautiful. Thanks for featuring me!!!
    Jaymie

  • Shauna July 19, 2016 at 9:11 am

    Too bad the earrings were heavy, they are really cute!

    Shauna

    http://www.lipglossandlace.net

  • Debbie Stinedurf July 19, 2016 at 9:28 am

    The gold dipped lace is so unique, I love it. I think my favorite is the bar necklace though. It’s delicate while still making a statement.
    Debbie
    http://www.fashionfairydust.com

  • Shea July 19, 2016 at 9:36 am

    I really love Uncommon Goods and their beautiful jewelry, and the pieces you picked are so pretty! I especially love the gold bar necklace. It’s so dainty and feminine, but still makes a statement–gorgeous!!

  • Shea July 19, 2016 at 9:36 am

    Oh and just to nerd out with you, I used to read my husband’s textbook for his short story class in college when we were dating… just for fun 🙂

  • Sierra July 19, 2016 at 9:42 am

    Such great choices. So unique hearing the story behind each piece. Heavy earrings are tough but can be such statement pieces. Great finds. Beautifully Candid

  • Mary Murnane July 19, 2016 at 9:44 am

    Love that site! These are such beautiful pieces, thank you for sharing.

    Mary
    http://www.marymurnane.com

  • Dawn Lucy July 19, 2016 at 9:45 am

    I’m a natural introvert too. I became an English teacher because I spent most of my childhood with my nose stuck in a book! I’m more social now, but only if I get an equal amount of me time! BTW, love Uncommon Goods!

    OXOX
    Dawn Lucy
    http://fashionshouldbefun.blogspot.com

  • amy July 19, 2016 at 10:17 am

    The jewelry is gorgeous, I especially love the beaded bracelet.

  • Jennie July 19, 2016 at 10:24 am

    You selected some beautiful pieces and I enjoyed seeing how you styled them. You look very pretty in your blue patterned top!

  • Laura July 19, 2016 at 10:33 am

    You picked some great pieces! I love the gold bar necklace!

  • Elise July 19, 2016 at 11:29 am

    I love all of the jewelry!! It is gorgeous!

    xx, Elise
    http://www.sparkleandslippers.blogspot.com

  • Ada July 19, 2016 at 2:14 pm

    That jewelry is gorgeous and so unique, Rachel. Way to dress up shorts. I particularly love the statement earrings. =)

  • CidStyleFile July 19, 2016 at 3:35 pm

    I really love an appreciate this type of jewelry. I am going to look up Uncommon Goods as well. Thanks for linking up to #UntamedStyle as well.
    CidStyleFile.com

  • Sarah @ Bows & Clothes July 19, 2016 at 4:36 pm

    Beautiful jewelry! I love the company too!

    Sarah
    http://mybowsandclothes.blogspot.com/

  • Adri July 19, 2016 at 5:23 pm

    Those are such great pieces! Love how you styled them!
    xo Adri
    http://www.adrilately.blogspot.com

  • Mallory L Welch July 19, 2016 at 7:27 pm

    I love your style and the jewelry pieces you picked out. Thank you for hosting the link-up too! I’m following you on twitter.

  • elle spann July 19, 2016 at 7:50 pm

    i love that necklace. it goes with everything!
    elle
    Southern Elle Style

  • Rachel July 19, 2016 at 8:58 pm

    Lovely pieces! Love your top!

    http://chicglamstyle.com

  • Johanna Grange July 19, 2016 at 9:30 pm

    Blue is your color girl!

  • Shannon Jenkins July 19, 2016 at 9:59 pm

    Such an adorable top! Love the pattern and that pretty jewelry!

    <3 Shannon
    Upbeat Soles

  • Lydia July 19, 2016 at 10:22 pm

    I really like the way you styled your jewelry and what a cute little website with unique picks. I am all about different and uncommon stuff because I think it’s great to stand out and be different. Thanks again for having me co-host with you!

    Lydia | Chicandmodish.com

  • Becky - bybmg July 20, 2016 at 7:50 am

    I love the earrings/necklace set you got! Super pretty!

  • Alison Lumbatis July 20, 2016 at 4:21 pm

    Thank you so much for linking up and sharing these pretties with all of us.

  • Diane July 20, 2016 at 8:01 pm

    I was really antisocial in middle school, tried to make some efforts in high school but I was still quite reserved :/ Anyways, I really like the jewelry, especially the ones you’re wearing with the first look!
    xx
    DeeVine Anonyme

  • Jane July 21, 2016 at 8:06 am

    I can most definitely relate to your school days, as mine were very similar. I’ve only recently started to come out of my shell and grow into my own…and I’m nearly 30! Ah well, better late than never ;). I’m glad to read about UnCommonGoods as I really appreciate businesses that help to support those in need. It’s great to see people being able to make and sell their goods to a larger audience through companies like this. I love the pieces you picked out to show us – those gold earrings are gorgeous!

    Jane
    http://www.unextraordinarilyjane.com

  • Nicole July 22, 2016 at 1:13 am

    Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. These earrings are calling my name. Great pick!

  • ruth July 22, 2016 at 5:38 pm

    Such pretty jewelry! I love those gold lace dipped earrings!

    http://www.mylittlenest.org

  • Sheela Goh July 25, 2016 at 12:12 pm

    You and I, Rachel, we’d be huddled together in that corner, with our respective tomes in hand. I’ve always been a bookworm, and because we weren’t very rich growing up (and libraries weren’t quite existent in Borneo at the time), birthdays and Christmases were special occasions because we’d receive books. I remember being fed a literary diet of Blyton, Lewis, Nesbit, Christie and Tolkien as a child/teenager, and I’m quite certain that sparked in me the desire to articulate my own thoughts into words. It’s a shame how many eschew the hard printed copy for electronic versions these days. There’s nothing quite like the smell (and sound) of a crisp page being turned.

    You’re a very special person, Mrs Garay, and don’t you ever let anyone tell you differently. Different is good, same is lame 🙂 xoxo